Symphony JAPAN (302)

First performance at 40th Anniversary⬇︎

At 50th Anniversary↓

First performed on 20th June, 1993
Commissioned by Gifu Symphony Orchestra for the 40th Anniversary.
Conducted by Hiro Fujikake at Gifu Civic Auditorium
Performed by Gifu Symphony Orchestra and Gifu Yanagase Taiko(Japanese drums)

Performed on 23rd November, 2003 for the 50th Anniversary
Conducted by Kazuhiko Komatsu at Suntory Hall
Performed by Gifu Symphony Orchestra

This music was initially inspired by Hiro’s homeland,Gifu where is surrounded by beautiful greenery, mountains  and rivers then his imagination moved on to the history as well as the great nature of Japan.

Respecting classical structure, it’s been written to be totally new style of symphony with combining with Japanese traditional drums in the 4th movement. The 1st movement starts with the dramatic and mighty introduction. The beautiful horn melody changes the theme of the piece in the second movement and it plays an important role throughout the lest of the music. Hiro wishes this music tells the Japanese beautiful spirit to people all over the world. This is how it titled “JAPAN”. Use your imagination to feel Japanese spirit!

(manuscript: 144pages / Duration: approx.30min.)

1st Movement : Maestoso–Allegro con brio
2nd Movement :Andante con espressione
3rd Movement : Allegro Scherzando
4th Movement : Andante–Allegro con anima
( Duration : 30minutes )