James Galway ”The Enchanted Forest – Melodies of Japan”

Collaboration Work of James Galway and Hiro Fujikake

The Enchanted Forest CD

Apple Music

Check the Episode with  Sir James Galway and Hiro Fujikake▶︎

Sheet music is available at the following page;

Featured Sale

  1. The Enchanted Forest (Hiro Fujikake) [4:55]

    This composition originally appeared on Hiro Fujikake’s solo album “Romance,” as a work for solo synthesizer. It was a request from Sir James Galway to use the name of  ” The Enchanted Forest” for the CD title.
  2. Lyrical Short Piece (Hiro Fujikake) [2:45]

    Hiro developed the motif of the music which was originally composed for a documentary program and rearranged it as a flute melody for this album.
  3. Nakasendo(The Old Road) (Hiro Fujikake) [3:44]

    It was composed for the theme of TV program.
  4. Zui Zui Zukkorobashi(Trad.)[2:11]

    Japanese children’s play song. He developed and arranged the harmony of the original music.
  5. Star Children (Hiro Fujikake) [4:14]

    This music was inspired by a poem by Masaji Chujyo. Originally composed for a mixed quartet with mandolin orchestra, it was recorded on solo synthesizer for Hiro’s 2nd album “Romance.”
  6. Song of the Deep Forest (Improvisation) (Hiro Fujikake) [4:08]
    This is an improvisation music. Hiro provided  only a score of flue melody and let Sir James Galway play freely.  Then Hiro  improvised accompaniment on the synthesizer.
  7. Tokuyama Lullaby (Hiro Fujikake) [2:06]
    Hiro encountered a melody from an old lady humming. The song was a children’s lullaby passed down in the Tokuyama area, which has since been submerged as a consequence of the construction of Japan’s largest dam. The Tokuyama village in Gifu was close to where Hiro used to spend time in his childhood.
  8. Hietsuki Bushi (Love Song)(Trad.) [3:40]
    One of the beautiful melody of Japanese traditional folk song.
  9. Usuhiki Uta (Trad.)[2:15]
    This is also one of a folk songs in Tokuyama Village. Again, Hiro caught a melody from an old lady whispering in this song and Hiro used to play this music at his solo concerts many times since he wanted more people know about the vanished village.
  10. Love Song (Hiro Fujikake) [3:32]
    The original music was recorded in Hiro Fujikake’s 2nd solo album “Romance” and  performed by only synthesizer.
  11. Echoes (Hiro Fujikake) [6:07]
    The music employed a digital delay effect to portray the image of “Echoes” among mountains. Sir James Galway like this effect very much and he enjoyed playing with it before the official recording.
  12. Song of Clay (Hiro Fujikake) [3:46]
    The melody is based on the “Song of Clay and Fram” which was composed for the main music of  “International Pottery Festival” .
  13. Harukoma (Trad.)[2:28]
    The original music was based on a famous Bon festival dance passed down in the area of Gunjo-Hachiman in Gifu prefecture. It was selected because the rhythm is similar to Jazz swing and it was interesting to pair it with flute sounds.
  14. Sakura(Trad.)[4:09]
    Everyone knows this traditional song in Japan because “Sakura” means cherry blossom – a national flower in Japan. Hiro made an effort to bring out the beautiful flute melody, against the background music.
  15. Romantic World (Hiro Fujikake) [4:00]
    Originally, it was composed for a ballet music “Come down from a tree! BUNNA”   and arranged for this album. The original music was recorded in Hiro’s 2nd solo album “Romance” as well.